Sunday, June 25, 2017

Prohibitionist Logic

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Walter

H/T to Charlie Martin

Friday, June 23, 2017

Is This Guy Serious?

 Why Does the Far Right Hold a Near-Monopoly on Political Violence?
 Why does the Left hold a near-monopoly on political idiocy? Clueless articles like this. Please provide a recent incident other than some dude running for office in Montana knocking a Guardian reporter on his ass where the perpetrator was on the Right. They've all been of the Left. Talking about our Second Amendment rights to protect our rights with violence isn't violence as you so claim. They are words. We haven't yet been driven to the point of violence. We prefer the courts. Wouldn't it be nice if you guys felt the same?
30 GOP Congressmen Have Been Attacked or Threatened Since May

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Subjects not Citizens

British Police Just Imprisoned A Man For Posting Mean Things About Muslims On Facebook
In [formerly] Great Britain there ain't no free speech. If the government doesn't approve off to jail you go.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Stephen Furst, Flounder from 'Animal House', Dead at 63

Yeah, I remember him from Animal House, but it was his work on Babylon 5 that made me a fan.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Porcupines

A popular essay from Lt. Col. Dave Grossman, divided humans into three categories: “Sheep,” “Wolves,” and “Sheepdogs.” I would suggest that Lt. Col. Grossman left out an important fourth category: “Porcupines.” My wife is neither “sheep” nor “sheepdog,” and she certainly is no “wolf.” She is a “porcupine;” harmless and docile if left alone, but ferocious and dangerous if threatened – even more so if her progeny are threatened. She would choose flight over fight every time, if flight is a viable option. But if flight is not an option, she has the tools, training, and mindset to win the fight. - Jeff Knox
I like that. My responsibility is to myself and my family. If I choose to step up and help others, I set myself up in the aftermath for a world of crap. I won't say I won't, but, once again, me and mine come first.

It's a good article. I suggest you read the whole thing.

More, Please

Protesters interrupt Trump-parody play: ‘Blood of Steve Scalise is on your hands’
They have a right to free speech. so do we. Exercise it by the same rules they use.

That Tracks

THIS is how you respond to a Mass Shooting

Republicans Target D.C. Gun Laws in Wake of Shooting
The bill forces reciprocity on D. C. and unlike a suggestion by another GOP lawmaker isn't just for elected officials but everyone. Eleanor Holmes Norton, the nonvoting representative for D. C., bitched about Representative Massie, the sponsor of the bill, of exploiting a tragedy, something an anti-gun Democrat would of course never do. She did get one thing right. The GOP needs to be consistent. Extend reciprocity to Federal property. It's only fair.

Friday, June 16, 2017

Heh

Thursday, June 15, 2017

He's not lying...

...he just can't get his talking points straight.
Terry McAuliffe: ‘We Lose 93 Million Americans a Day to Gun Violence

Now There's an Idea.

It is what they do...

Lie.
America’s Lethal Politics

On the Purposely Ignorant

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Blood Dancing

I think I'll sit this one out for today.

Recently Read

Monster Hunters Siege by Larry Correia

I decided not to wait and shelled out the fifteen bucks for the ARC. I just couldn't wait. I wasn't disappointed. What we get here is more story and less action but that's fine. It's more of a stepping stone to the next book taking care of some needed household duties before moving on to the good stuff. That's not to say there wasn't good stuff there. There was plenty, but if you are looking for non-stop action you won't find it in this novel. What it did do was leave me wanting more and hopefully the next novel in the series will give it to me. Highly Recommended.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

HPA attached to SHARE Act

The Hearing Protection Act has been attached to the SHARE Act, an omnibus hunting act, and now the gun prohibitionists have shifted opposition from the HPA to SHARE. In other words they oppose all gun rights and hunters aren't any safer than the rest of the firearms community. They want all our guns.

It is what they do...

Lie.
The NRA-ILA’s Chris Cox was allowed to respond with his own letter, which WaPo published on June 5. However, WaPo editors deleted this line: “If the editorial board had accepted NRA’s invitation to a suppressor shoot last week, they would have heard for themselves that the Hearing Protection Act is exactly what its title claims: An act that protects hearing.”
For those who support gun control anything is acceptable as long as it supports their agenda.

Monday, June 12, 2017

Seriously?

NYT: Trump ‘Helping Terrorists’ by Refusing to Talk Gun Control after London Knife Attacks
Just what the hell does a knife attack by terrorists in [formerly] Great Britain have to do with gun control in the United States? Seriously guys, that's a stretch even for the New York Times Editorial Board.

Sunday, June 11, 2017

Current Events

Saturday, June 10, 2017

Quote of the Day

The choices of this civil war are painfully clear.

We can have a system of government based around the Constitution with democratically elected representatives. Or we can have one based on the ideological principles of the left in which all laws and processes, including elections and the Constitution, are fig leaves for enforcing social justice.

But we cannot have both.

Some civil wars happen when a political conflict can’t be resolved at the political level. The really bad ones happen when an irresolvable political conflict combines with an irresolvable cultural conflict.

That is what we have now.

The left has made it clear that it will not accept the lawful authority of our system of government. It will not accept the outcome of elections. It will not accept these things because they are at odds with its ideology and because they represent the will of large portions of the country whom they despise.

The question is what comes next. - Daniel Greenfield

[Source]

Well, yeah.

Really, if you think about it, this is so obvious the fact that it is even in question is pretty screwed up even for New Jersey.
The Second Amendment protects some bladed weapons, and not just firearms

The New Jersey machete decision is important because it rejects a “spontaneity” requirement for arming yourself at home (the state’s theory that you could pick up a weapon against an imminent attack, but you can’t come to the door with the weapon just in case). But it’s also important because it reaffirms that the Second Amendment protects not just guns but other weapons as well.

Adam West RIP

Adam West, star of 60's Batman, Dead at 88
Adam West was the Batman of my youth. I loved the show until I got older and the the sappiness of it was too much to endure. I grew older and preferred the darker Batman of the comics. I can't sit and watch the show now, BUT Adam West is still my Batman. Rest in Peace Caped Crusader.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

A Pleasant Surprise

House Bill 746, the Omnibus Bill passed the North Carolina House with eight Republicans voting against it. Their constituents should consider a change, but for now it is on to the Senate. I'd never thought constitutional carry a possibility in North Carolina so this was a pleasant surprise.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Before and After

Recently Read

Naomi Novik's Empire of Ivory and Victory of Eagles.

The war against Napoleon continues. Recommended.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Bloomberg's Minions Decend on Raleigh...

...to oppose Omnibus Gun Bill. They REALLY don't like Constitutional Carry.
GRNC Alert 06-05-17 BIG DOLLAR, ANTI-GUN LOBBYISTS ARE WORKING YOUR NC REPS

So email your representatives and let them know how you feel they should vote. Email them all and let them know how they should vote.

Here is the Republican members email addresses provided for your convenience by GRNC. Go at it.

CONTACT INFO

NC House Republicans Email *List(s):

Dean.Arp@ncleg.net; John.Bell@ncleg.net; Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net; John.Blust@ncleg.net; Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net; John.Bradford@ncleg.net; Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net; Mark.Brody@ncleg.net; Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net; Justin.Burr@ncleg.net; Mike.Clampitt@ncleg.net; George.Cleveland@ncleg.net; Jeff.Collins@ncleg.net; Debra.Conrad@ncleg.net; Kevin.Corbin@ncleg.net; Ted.Davis@ncleg.net; Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net; Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net; Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net; Andy.Dulin@ncleg.net; Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net; John.Faircloth@ncleg.net; Carl.Ford@ncleg.net; John.Fraley@ncleg.net;

Holly.Grange@ncleg.net; Destin.Hall@ncleg.net; Kyle.Hall@ncleg.net; Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net; Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net; Cody.Henson@ncleg.net; Craig.Horn@ncleg.net; Julia.Howard@ncleg.net; Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net; Frank.Iler@ncleg.net; Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net; Bert.Jones@ncleg.net; Brenden.Jones@ncleg.net; Jonathan.Jordan@ncleg.net; Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net; David.Lewis@ncleg.net; Chris.Malone@ncleg.net; Susan.Martin@ncleg.net; Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net; Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net; Allen.McNeill@ncleg.net; Tim.Moore@ncleg.net; Gregory.Murphy@ncleg.net;

> Larry.Potts@ncleg.net; Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net; Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net; David.Rogers@ncleg.net; Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net; Jason.Saine@ncleg.net; John.Sauls@ncleg.net; Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net; Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net; Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net; Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net; Scott.Stone@ncleg.net; Larry.Strickland@ncleg.net; John.Szoka@ncleg.net; John.Torbett@ncleg.net; Rena.Turner@ncleg.net; Harry.Warren@ncleg.net; Sam.Watford@ncleg.net; Donna.White@ncleg.net; Linda.Williams@ncleg.net; Larry.Yarborough@ncleg.net; Lee.Zachary@ncleg.net

*Spam filters or email program limitations may cause the need to send more than one email, to cover the entire list of representatives. If so, the list above is split into three pieces, for your convenience.

Sunday, June 4, 2017

I'm Evil

I saw an internet meme that had a picture of a young Muslim girl and the text "If you offend a Muslim are they triggered or detonated." I called it to my wife's attention and got a sermon on how not all Muslims are terrorists. My response was that I never said they were. At most, I'm guilty of a very un-PC sense of humor.

Later that evening she texted me about the latest terror attack in [formerly] Great Britain.

My response?

Detonated.

Let me end with the observation that there is a reason I haven't lived with her since 2003.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Heh.

[Source]

About Time

Paris Agreement on climate change: US withdraws as Trump calls it 'unfair'
I call it f****d up and I'm not alone in that It also has been noted by people brighter than me that the "agreement" was never ratified by the Senate and whether Obama had a pen and a phone or not no international treaties or agreements are binding without that ratification. That seems to be something Obama, the constitutional law professor, never understood or he ignored the law because it wasn't convenient to his agenda. He did that a lot. Trump, not so much, at least so far.